ISCAST Member Reverend Dr Charles Henry Sherlock Made Member of Order of Australia AM

ISCAST member, Reverend Dr Charles Henry Sherlock was made a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia this year. This honour was awarded “for significant service to the Anglican Church of Australia, and to theological education.”

Reverend Dr Sherlock’s selection was informed by notable points of his work, including positions with the following institutions:

Anglican Church of Australia:

  • Appointed Member, Anglican Roman Catholic International Commission (ARCIC), since 1991.
  • Appointed Member, Inter–Anglican Standing Committee on Ecumenical Relations, 2000–2003.
  • Editor, Church Scene: the National Anglican weekly, 1995-1998

Anglican Liturgical Commission:

  • Executive Secretary, 2003-2010.
  • Secretary, 1989-2003.
  • Member, 1988-2010.

Anglican Diocese of Bendigo:

  • Honorary Associate Priest, current.
  • Director of Theological Education and Ministry Development, 2007-2012.
  • Former Editor, ‘The Spirit’ (Diocesan newsletter).

St Paul’s Cathedral, Melbourne:

  • Canon, 2003-2009.

St Augustine’s Anglican Church, Moreland

  • Minister in Charge, 1985.
  • Assistant Curate, 1977-1981, 1983-1984, 1986-1988, and 1990-1992.

University of Divinity:

  • Honorary Research Fellow, since 2012.
  • Registrar and Director of Ministry Studies, 2003-2007.
  • Member of Council, 1987–2005.

Trinity College Theological School:

  • Senior Lecturer, 1998-2003.

Ridley College Melbourne:

  • Visiting Lecturer, 1994-1998.
  • Senior Lecturer, 1988-1993.
  • Lecturer, 1971-1972, 1975-1981, and 1983-1987.

Along with other work of his, including:

Theological Education:

  • Former Executive Secretary, Australian and New Zealand Association of Theological Schools.
  • Auditor, Australian University Quality Agency (AUQA) 2007-2010.
  • Expert, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA), 2012-2018.
  • Council Member, Australian College of Theology, 1981–2010.
  • Governor, Australia Research Theology Foundation, 1997–2017.


  • Research Fellow, Yale Divinity School (USA) 1982.
  • Secretary, Trentham & Districts Community Bank, Bendigo Bank, since 2013.
  • Former President, Princes Hill Primary School Council, Brunswick North Primary School Council, Brunswick High School Council.