fbpx Science, Theology & Orthodox Christianity: ISCAST–SOW Talks 2021 | ISCAST

Science, Theology & Orthodox Christianity: ISCAST–SOW Talks 2021

Dec
07
Dec/07 19:00 - Dec/14 20:00
https://youtu.be/SiqI-OvgK48
When: 
Tuesday, 7 December 2021 - 7:00pm to Tuesday, 14 December 2021 - 8:00pm

ISCAST is teaming up with Science & Orthodoxy around the World (SOW) to present 2 panel conversations surrounding science and theology in the Orthodox traditions. This discussion will be an introduction to Orthodox Christianity’s views of the sciences, suitable for interested lay people.

The evenings will be chaired by Rev. Dr Chris Mulherin (ISCAST Executive Director). ISCAST Distinguished Fellow Prof. Peter Harrison will be responding to the presentations and moderating the conversation.

This event is FREE and does not require registration.

Both panels will begin at 7 p.m. AEDT / 10 a.m. Athens / 6 p.m. Brisbane / 9 a.m. Erfurt.

Link to livestream: https://youtu.be/SiqI-OvgK48


Talk 1: Early Christian and Byzantine attitudes to science

December 7

Panel:

  • Rev. Assoc. Prof. Doru Costache (ISCAST/SOW/Sydney College of Divinity)
  • Prof. Vasilios Makrides (SOW/University of Erfurt)
  • Dr Eftymios Nicolaidis (SOW/IHR-NHRF, Athens)

TALK 2: Modern and contemporary Orthodox attitudes

December 14

Panel:

  • Rev. Dr Antonios Kaldas (ISCAST/St Cyril’s Coptic Orthodox Theological College, Sydney)
  • Dr Samuel Kaldas (ISCAST/St Cyril’s Coptic Orthodox Theological College, Sydney)
  • Dr Sandy Sakorrafou (SOW/IHR-NHRF, Athens)
  • Dr Kostas Tampakis (SOW/IHR-NHRF, Athens)